I Asked

Genivyve Smith 
Jan 17, 2013

I asked to sit one time at your table
Thinking I actually could that’s a story, a fable
Nothing but a fairy tale was I stuck
Being taken out, well, that’s just my luck.
I broke out – took a chance
and you met me with a downward glance
You don’t know
you don’t think so
I say okay with my head up making eye contact
I was taught not to react
Its okay though – I said that I pick up my own pieces
Smiles covering up as the lying ceases
I asked
Didn’t I?

Leave a Reply

